Using Ubuntu 10.10 (Maverick Meerkat)

“The Box said, ‘Requires Windows 95 or better’.  So, I installed Linux.”

-Anon



I am actually not a completely new convert to Linux.  I used to have fun playing all the games on old Red Hat systems when I was younger.  But I stuck to Windows through college and uni due to the simple reason it was the system most (affordable) laptops come packaged with.  But now, being thoroughly fed up with the total mind boggling stupidity and general inefficiency of Windows I was ready for a change.

I would like to take this opportunity to say, and as a Windows 3.1, 95, 98, XP and Vista user I feel I have the right, that Microsoft really is just getting worse.  Seriously.  Convert now while you still can.

Anyway, now I have Ubuntu 10.10 and it is absolutely awesome!  I have set my system to dual boot so I can get Windows if necessary, but I am considering getting Wine (a Windows emulator for Linux) which would mean I never have to use Windows again!  Hurrah!!

Of course Linux is a big change for a first time user.  As a newbie myself, there are a lot of things I don’t get right the first time like codec settings etc.  But for every single problem I have had there has been a person out there helpful enough to have written a solution.  So I thought I’d write a few posts myself just to express my thanks and share all the information I found useful.

Categories: Linux and Ubuntu, Ubuntu 10.10 - Maveric Meerkat | Leave a comment

Post navigation

If you find this useful or interesting please leave me a comment. If you have a question feel free to ask (^-^)

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.