Posts Tagged With: file

How to Sync your iPhone to a new Mac without Erasing your Data (a complete step-by-step guide)

My Macbook Pro hard-drive failed recently.  It was only about a year and a half old and it just went down without warning.  No slowing of the system, no problems, no crashes.  It just died suddenly. 

Anyway, I had Apple Care so I got it fixed for free with a shiny new HD.  However, I lost all my settings including the data relating to my iPhone to iTunes sync.  I spent the last 3 months trying to get my iPhone and the new HD to talk to each other.  But every single thing I tried didn’t stop me getting the unbelievably irritating message:

iphone erase and restore

But my persistence has finally paid off and I have actually successfully synced my iPhone to my new HD.  And, I have of course beaten (and beaten deep into the ground) the stupid stupid annoying irritating erase and sync message. This fills me with a sense of pride and accomplishment.

While I was trying and failing to fix the problem I read many many different solutions and also many different ideas about which software to use and so on.  I also read countless times that it was not fixable and that I had to erase my iPhone.  Or that I had to jailbreak it.  In any case I did not find one clear cohesive step by step to solving this problem.

So I would like to share my solution in the hope that it will help other people get themselves out of this ridiculous situation.  This is my own complete and extremely detailed step by step guide to syncing an iPhone with a second/new Mac without losing/deleting/erasing any data. 

This solution does not require jailbreaking or anything of that nature, nor does it require you to erase anything from your iPhone.

And yes, this is EXACTLY what I did to get my iPhone to sync with my new HD and iTunes. Continue reading

Advertisements
Categories: Free Software, iPhone, Mac, Mac & OS X, Macbook Pro | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 27 Comments

Using Preview as a Handy Image Editor

Personally I never use iPhoto. For me, using iPhoto is like bashing my head repeatedly against a brick wall. Gods forbid that something straightforward like organising my photos into simple user-friendly folders should be anything other than incredibly fantastically complicated!

Anyway!

Having tossed iPhoto back unto the blackest pit from whence it came, for any image editing needs I use Preview instead. Of course for complicated graphics and painting related image editing I use GIMP or MyPaint or similar, but for easy tasks Preview works just fine. Preview is simple, straightforward and user-friendly which is all I ask. Continue reading

Categories: Art & Design, Mac & OS X | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Changing File/Folder Permissions and Privileges in OS X

Sometimes you want to move a file or folder from another computer to your Mac. And every time you want to change the information, move it or change it in any way it wants you to give Admin permission.

Every single time!

How annoying!

This is because the permissions for whatever reason are set to Read only. A good way to check is to see if you can rename it by clicking on the name. If you can’t it’s probably Read only. You can also check by right clicking on the file or folder and clicking Get Info. Check the Sharing & Permissions at the bottom of the window.

o

a.) Changing the Permissions for a File or Folder

To change your Permissions/Privileges just click where it says Read only and change the settings to Read & Write.

o

o

b.) Changing the Permissions for multiple files or folders

So method a.) is fine for one or two files or folders but what if you have ten or twenty or a couple of hundred? For months I did this painstakingly for each file and folder, muttering dark curses against stupid user privileges for ordinary files… until I found out that there is actually a way of doing this!!!

To change the Permissions of multiple files or folders:

  • Open a finder window showing the folder CONTAINING all the folders/files you want to change
  • Right click on the folder and select Get Info
  • Unlock all Settings by clicking on the lock in the bottom right corner and type your Admin username and password
  • Click where it says Read only and change it to Read & Write
  • Click the Settings button and choose Apply to enclosed items

  • It will ask if you are sure and warn you that you can’t undo this action, so click OK (if you are sure)

  • Click the lock again to lock the Settings again

o

Now you can change the name and extension of all the files in that folder and move them wherever you want without being asked for your Admin details all the time. Hurrah!

o

Categories: Mac & OS X | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.